8 Days – Turkish Style

Welcome to Istanbul, 2010 European Capital of Culture!

During the Cruise along Bosphorus Strait on the National Day. Marmara Sea and Ortakoy District.

I arrived in Istanbul after 185 minute-flight on Wednesday April 21st, the first day when the most European airports started to operate flights after the volcano eruption in Iceland. The bustle, traffic jam, the beauty of sightseeing, the peculiarity of crossing daily from Europe to Asia as well as the careful company of my friends emprisoned my soul in a feeling of enthusiasm and inquisitiveness during my entire stay in Turkey.

Are you foreigner? Then you pay double!

Paying the double price was the consequence of not speaking Turkish. Besides the good cheating skills of Turkish in shops, beauty salons or call centers (30TL for less than 3 minute-call in Spain!) I experienced the same treatment in public

Going out like Turkish!

institutions as Topkapi Palace (10TL for Turkish, 20TL for NonTurkish) or Galata Tower (free for Turkish, 10TL for non Turkish).

My experience in Ankara

Sometimes, just to dare is enough. I experienced it in Turkey. I dared to adventure myself alone in one day trip to Ankara. I dared to ask a group of Turkish teenagers from where I can buy souvenirs and that’s how I arrived in one office with more than five very kind employees. They guided me through Kocatepe Mosque and thanks to them and their boss I had the chance to admire Ankara from the mosque’s minaret, from a height of more than 60 m.

Ankara from the Kocatepe Mosque’s Minaret

Thank you, guys!

Many thanks to those who made my stay in Turkey so enjoyable: Sevim, Özgün, Muhsin, Yesim, Gül, Mustafa, Tuğda, Esra and to their boss who gave them 2 hours free time to show me the surroundings in Ankara.

In Kocatepe Mosque with Tuğda, Esra and Gül

Tips for having a great experience in Turkey

● Visit Istanbul in the company of indigenous people.

● Worthy of enjoying in Turkey:

Istanbul:

Topkapi Palace

Dolmabahçe Palace

Hagia Sophia

Maiden’s Tower 

Ortakoy District

Cruise along Bosphorus Strait

Tophane- drink Turkish tea,  smoke waterpipe!

Ankara:

Kocatepe Mosque

Anit Kabir

Shopping in Bazzars

Ortakoy District in Istanbul

This entry was posted in Abroad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 8 Days – Turkish Style

  1. iulia says:

    ma bucur ca postezi si tu o data la 4 luni:)) ai mancat si tu manti si kumpir si ai baut ceai turcesc? 😛 poop

  2. Simona says:

    da, si eu mă bucur şi mă mir că la ritmul meu de publicat mai şi am cititori :)) Da, am mâncat manti şi am gustat alte cele de prin bucătăria turcească, dar să ştii că mi-a scăpat kumpir-ul. Ceaiul turcesc îl beau mai tot timpul, fiindcă am primit de la turcoaice acum câteva luni tot ce îmi trebuie pentru a-l savura în cameră. 😉 deci, când ne vedem îţi pregătesc şi ţie! >:d<

Leave a comment